Tuesday, September 8, 2015

He Was the First

Who was the Church’s first mission president?
a.                  Heber C. Kimball
b.                  Parley P. Pratt
c.                   Orson Pratt
d.                  Brigham Young
Yesterday’s answer:
c.   Harvey Whitlock
   Whitlock was among the Saints expelled from Jackson County in 1833. He attended conferences and labored as a missionary until 1834, when he was disfellowshipped from the Church. In September 1835 he wrote to Joseph Smith expressing remorse for his departure. The Prophet wrote back expressing his joy at Harvey’s repentant spirit and promising him forgiveness if he would return.
   Harvey Whitlock was rebaptized and ordained a high priest on 30 January 1836 in Kirtland, and he remained in the Church until he was excommunicated in 1838. By 1840 he was living in Cedar County, Iowa, and by 1850 he had come west to Salt Lake City. He was a doctor and accumulated some land but was arrested in 1851 for theft. In 1858 he was rebaptized again, but once again he denied the faith. He moved to California in 1864 and joined the Reorganized church, serving a mission for them in 1866.

Arnold K. Garr et al., Encyclopedia of Latter-day Saint History (Salt Lake City: Deseret Book, 2000), 1332.

No comments:

Post a Comment